Mastering Scales DVD

Regular price $14.99


buy digital version

A deluxe crash course in guitar theory, with over 80 minutes of instructional video to help you reach the next level!

Everything you need to know about Pentatonic, Hexatonic, and Blues Scales.  Plus, exotic scales, monster shred patterns, moving through the cycle of fifths.

Chapter Listing:

Chapter 1 – C Major, A minor, G major, E minor pentatonic scales.

Chapter 2 – Two-notes-per-string pentatonic box patterns.

Chapter 3 – Moving through the cycle of fourths and fifths.

Chapter 4 – “2+3” and “3+2” fretboard patterns.

Chapter 5 - Two-note-per-string and three-note-per-string pentatonic box patterns.

Chapter 6 – Pentatonic “modules.”

Chapter 7 – A minor, C major, E minor, G major blues scales.

Chapter 8 – More blues scale exercises, the “monster shred” pattern, E minor hexatonic scale.

Chapter 9 – E minor, D major, C Lydian, A minor, and G major hexatonic scales.

Chapter 10 – Alternating between hexatonic scales.

Chapter 11 – Obscure but cool-sounding hexatonic scales.

Chapter 12 – Comparing back to back hexatonic scales, and the “Iberian” hexatonic scale.

Your Instructor is Jimmy Brown, author of Guitar World's best selling DVD, Mastering Fretboard Harmony.  Over the last 24 years Jimmy has built a reputation as one of the world's finest music editors through his work as transcriber, arranger, and senior music editor for Guitar World magazine.  In addition to these roles, he is a busy working musician, performing regularly as a solo acoustic guitar/vocal act and rocking out with a full band at taverns, restaurants, resorts, weddings and private parties.  Jimmy earned a Bachelor of Music degree in Jazz Studies and Performance and Music Management from William Paterson University in 1988 and relies on much of what he learned then - and since then, as a professional musician-for-hire to do his job effectively.  He is also an experienced private guitar teacher and an accomplished writer, two skills that go hand-in-hand in his career at Guitar World

Please note: This product includes a PDF booklet on the DVD and can be retrieved by opening the DVD on your computer.

Share this Product

More from this collection